Van Morrison - Pay the Devil (2006)



Report this ad


Everything we sell has been donated to St Joseph's Hospice by our generous supporters.

All the money raised will come directly to the Hospice so we can continue to provide our care across east London.

Van Morrison – Pay The Devil

Exile – 9876290, Polydor – 9876290

1 There Stands The Glass 2:17

2 Half As Much 2:36

3 Things Have Gone To Pieces 3:11

4 Big Blue Diamonds 2:56

5 Playhouse 4:14

6 Your Cheatin' Heart 2:32

7 Don't You Make Me High (Bonus Track) 2:47

8 My Bucket's Got A Hole In It 2:22

9 Back Street Affair 2:49

10 Pay The Devil 3:03

11 What Am I Living For? 3:57

12 This Has Got To Stop 4:44

13 Once A Day 2:52

14 More And More 2:46

15 Till I Gain Control Again 5:59

Pay the Devil is the thirty-second studio album by Northern Irish singer/songwriter Van Morrison. It was released in 2006 by Lost Highway. The album features twelve cover versions of American country and western tunes and three original compositions. It debuted at #26 on The Billboard 200 and peaked at #7 on Top Country Albums; it was listed at #10 on Amazon Best of 2006 Editor's Picks in Country in December 2006

The songs on the album consist of twelve cover songs and three originals. The cover songs are chosen from old-time country songs recorded during the 1950s and 1960s by well-known country artists such as Hank Williams, Webb Pierce, Merle Haggard and George Jones. Morrison's three originals are written and sung to blend with the classic country cover versions.

Erik Hage described Morrison's version of "Till I Gain Control Again" written by Rodney Crowell: "There's a sense of fragility and defeat, and it is moving in a way that a Van Morrison song rarely moves the listener. The singer sounds utterly broken down and shaken: 'hold me now, hold me now' he unsteadily repeats 'until I gain control again'. Even Morrison's most emotional material in the past never projected such pretty frailty."

For more information, click [view offer] to the right side.