The Cactus Brothers - CD (1993) - CDP-7804732



Report this ad


The Cactus Brothers

CD (1993)

Liberty Records - CDP-7804732

Highly arresting and energetic Nashville band, the Cactus Brothers formed in the late 80s as a spin-off from rock band Walk The West. Former members Paul Kirby (lead vocals, guitar, harmonica), Will Golemon (guitar, banjo, backing vocals), John Golemon (bass) and Richard Ice (drums) were joined by Tramp (b. Michael Halpin Lawing) (fiddle, mandolin, guitars, backing vocals) shortly afterwards, while Dave Kennedy took over on drums.
By 1991 Walk The West were no longer a going concern, and as the Cactus Brothers this nucleus earned its first recording contract with Liberty Records in the summer of 1992. Prior to the signing, the group was featured in Pure Country, a George Strait film shot in Texas, which featured the group composition Crazy Heart, while Tramp and Kirby contributed on two other songs.

The Cactus Brothers was released in May 1993, with Sam Poland (pedal and lap steel guitar, dobro) and David Schnaufer (electric and acoustic dulcimers, harp) added to the line-up. It was an excellent introduction to their rough-edged country sound, that showed the influence of bluegrass and rock. In promoting the disc the group travelled over 60, 000 miles in the USA, while 1994 brought appearances in Eire, Norway, the Netherlands, Switzerland, and at the UK’s Cambridge Folk Festival.

The group has also achieved recognition for their videos, which, despite being recorded on low budgets, have twice (Fisher’s Hornpipe, 1992, and Sixteen Tons, 1994) come third in the prestigious and highly competitive Worldfest poll. Both of those tracks are on this album.

Case clean with small crack.  Artwork has no rips or creases.  Disc itself has minor surface scratches.  See photos - all photos show actual item.

For more information, click [view offer] to the right side.